6 Things I Learned As A Girl Who Has Basically Everything

“Perhaps because I know they(my parents” will be there to catch me when I fall, I’ve developed a fear of trying.”

Thought Catalog

I’m privileged.

When I was 14, I went to Paris for the first time. My parents paid for my entire undergraduate education at an expensive private school. I still owe my Mom thousands of dollars for all the traveling I did when I studied in Rome. This isn’t to say I’m entitled. I am incredibly grateful for the opportunities I’ve been given. My parents came to America in their late teens with a smaller suitcase than I would use for a weekend getaway. Both put themselves through college and beyond. Their hard work and support however, gave me a luxury – the opportunity to be anxious and disillusioned.

Perhaps because I know they will be there to catch me when I fall, I’ve developed a fear of trying. It’s pretty cowardly if you think about it.  I frequently open 40 Safari tabs of jobs I’m going to apply for…later. I…

View original post 1,153 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

